News Releases - Athletes in Action

Feb. 17 Event Awards Two NBA Personalities With All-Star Character

All-Star Breakfast Award Recipients Include Pacers Sports and Entertainment Vice Chairman Jim Morris and New Orleans Pelicans Forward-Center Cody Zeller

INDIANAPOLIS, Feb. 1, 2024—Held annually during the NBA All-Star Weekend, the All-Star Breakfast recognizes role models in the NBA for their outstanding character, leadership and integrity both on and off the court.

Hosted by international sports ministry Athletes in Action, the All-Star Breakfast features presentations of the Jerry Colangelo Award and Bobby Jones Award, each presented by their namesakes to a current or former basketball executive or player who displays character on the basketball court and in their local community.

Celebrating the great people of the game, sportscaster Ernie Johnson describes the All-Star Breakfast as “an oasis … a perfect place to reflect, recharge and reinforce values that truly matter—faith, character and integrity.


Feb. 17, 8:30 a.m. EST


The Indiana Roof Ballroom

140 W Washington Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204


  • 2024 Jerry Colangelo Award Winner: Pacers Sports and Entertainment Vice Chairman Jim Morris
  • 2024 Bobby Jones Award Winner: New Orleans Pelicans Forward-Center Cody Zeller


In addition to the award presentation, the program will include sports analyst Sage Steele as emcee, Indiana Fever point guard Kelsey Mitchell, and former Indiana Pacers All-Star Dale Davis.

Hosting the All-Star Breakfast during the NBA All-Star Weekend is just one way Athletes in Action honors all that is great in the game of basketball. The sports ministry is known for making a positive ripple effect throughout the community long after the last All-Star festivities have ended. From providing basketball clinics for underserved youth to honoring single moms and supporting families and executives, Athletes in Action seeks to champion character by influencing the influencer.

For more information about the All-Star Breakfast and to inquire about attending, please visit


Jerry Colangelo Award Recipient Jim Morris

The 2024 Jerry Colangelo Award will be presented to Jim Morris, vice chairman of Pacers Sports and Entertainment. His career influence spans from the chief of staff for Indianapolis' mayor to president for the Lilly Endowment.

As executive director for the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP), Morris led the world’s largest humanitarian agency to feed more 100 million people in 80 countries during his tenure. Morris was appointed by UN Secretary General Kofi Annan as Special Envoy for Southern Africa, leading an effort to bring UN and humanitarian agencies together to address issues affecting more than 15 million people.

Morris has been a trustee and board chairman for Indiana University and Indiana State University, serves on the national advisory board for the Boy Scouts of America, and was treasurer of the U.S. Olympic Committee.


Bobby Jones Award Recipient Cody Zeller

The 2024 Bobby Jones Award will be presented to Cody Zeller, forward-center for the New Orleans Pelicans.

Zeller, an Indiana University Hoosier alum, was named Indiana’s Mr. Basketball after winning three state championships. He has also been recognized as the McDonalds’ All-American player (2011), Big Ten Freshman of the Year (2012), First Team All-Conference Big Ten (2013) and NBA All-Rookie Second Team (2014).


Athletes in Action is honored to name Jim Morris and Cody Zeller as this year’s recipients—representing all that is great about the game,” said Jared Miller, director of Athletes in Action Basketball. “Their respective achievements both on and off the court are remarkable. Seeking to make those around them better, they embody the very characteristics that these awards personify.

The All-Star Breakfast is part of Athletes in Action’s series of events designed to honor athletes and coaches who model exemplary character, values, integrity and faith. Other events include the Super Bowl Breakfast and the Coach Wooden “Keys to Life” Breakfast. Athletes in Action is a ministry of Cru. For more information about Athletes in Action, visit

©1994-2024 Cru. All Rights Reserved.