Kurt Warner Wins Prestigious 2010 Bart Starr Award

Recently-retired Arizona Cardinals quarterback honored at 2010 NFL-sanctioned Athletes in Action Super Bowl Breakfast.

Image courtesy of Athletes in Action

Recently retired Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner had an impressive 12-year NFL career filled with 2 NFL MVP awards, 5 Pro-Bowls and 3 Super Bowls. However, it is the commitment that Warner made to his family, community and teammates, which has made him the winner of the 2010 Bart Starr Award.

Bart Starr presented the award to Warner this morning at the 23rd Annual NFL-Sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast hosted by Athletes in Action at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa in Hollywood, Fla.

The Bart Starr Award was created to honor the NFL player who best exemplifies Starr’s outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community. The award is determined every year by voting from NFL players at the same time they vote on the Pro Bowl. The 2009 winner was Warrick Dunn of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

“I’m truly honored to accept such an amazing award. Football is an important part of my life, but it’s my family, friends and teammates that make the game, and my life, so special,” said Warner. “I plan to live up to this honor and continue to serve my family and community.”

Other 2010 finalists for the award included Jeff Saturday, center for the Indianapolis Colts and Drew Brees, quarterback for the New Orleans Saints.

While experiencing a storybook NFL career, going from bagging groceries to becoming one of the top quarterbacks in the country, Warner has strived to be a role model both on and off the field. Warner and his wife, Brenda, have dedicated endless hours to their First Things First Foundation. The Foundation helps children suffering from serious illnesses, provides assistance to single mothers, sends care packages to troops overseas and supports several other causes. They are also involved with organizations such as Make-A-Wish Foundation, the Special Olympics, Neighborhood Ministries and Habitat for Humanity.

Nearly 1,500 people attended this year’s breakfast, which was headlined by former Indianapolis Colts head coach Tony Dungy. Michael Vick, of the Philadelphia Eagles, joined Dungy as they spoke about their mentoring relationship and the positive changes in Michael’s life from his relationships with family, friends and teammates. Other attendees included Head Coach of the Baltimore Ravens John Harbaugh, NFL Hall of Famers Bart Starr, Anthony Munoz and Derrick Brooks, and ESPN’s Chris Mortensen, who emceed the morning.

The Super Bowl Breakfast is an NFL-sanctioned event hosted by Athletes in Action. The signature event of Super Bowl week has taken place in the game's host city every year since 1988, drawing sellout crowds to hear from some of the games’ biggest names.