2008 Finalists chosen for Bart Starr Award

Winner to be Announced February 2 During Annual Super Bowl Breakfast.

By Erik Segalini

The field has now been narrowed to just three with the announcement of the finalists for the 20th annual Bart Starr Award, which honors NFL players who show exemplary character and leadership in the home, on the field, and in the community:

The winner of the Bart Starr Award will be announced during the annual NFL-sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast, hosted by Athletes in Action, on Saturday, Feb. 2 at 8:00 a.m. MST at the Arizona Biltmore Resort & Spa. The breakfast program will feature NFL athletes and coaches, including 2007 Super Bowl champion head coach Tony Dungy, NFL Hall of Famers Bart Starr and Anthony Munoz and former San Francisco 49er's star Brent Jones.

The winner of the Bart Starr Award is determined by NFL player balloting at the end of the regular season, making the award one of the few individual honors selected by the players themselves.

The Bart Starr award reflects the NFL great's lifelong commitment to serving as a positive role model to his family, teammates and community. Past winners of the award include Anthony Munoz, Reggie White, Mike Singletary, Cris Carter, Darrell Green, Aeneas Williams and Curtis Martin.
The Super Bowl Breakfast, co-chaired by Phoenix Suns Chairman Jerry Colangelo and Mike Ingram, president of El Dorado Holdings, Inc., draws thousands of fans and has become one of the highlights of Super Bowl week. For more information, visit www.SuperBowlBreakfast.com.